If you need immediate assistance call 1-877-236-4600 or 610-236-0530

About Us

The Berks County Suicide Prevention Task Force was developed in 2015. The task force is a group of community members with common goals who have come together to focus on the needs of our community so that we can eliminate stigma of mental illness and put an end to suicide.

Each of the members is a key part of obtaining our goal as they represent a part of our larger community. We believe that suicide prevention is everyone’s business.

The committee members are:

Edward B. Michalik Psy.D.
Administrator, Berks County Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities Program & Executive Director, Berks County Area Agency on Aging
emichalik@countyofberks.com

Mary Hennigh
Deputy Administrator for Adults, MH/DD Program
mhennigh@countyofberks.com

Adrian Grieve
Executive Director, American Red Cross
adrian.grieve@redcross.org

Amy Groh
Director of Crisis Intervention Services, SAM Inc.
agroh@sam-inc.org

Ann Blankenhorn
Surgical and Psychiatric Nursing Division Director, Reading Hospital
Ann.Blankenhorn@readinghealth.org

Brian Richardson
Certified Peer Support Supervisor – Greater Reading Mental Health Alliance
brianrichardson@grmha.com

Chief Chris Neidert
Chief, Exeter Police Department
cneidert@exeterpolice.com

Chief Erik Grunzig
Chief, Muhlenberg Twp. Police Dept.
EGrunzig@muhlenbergtwp.com

Chief Scott Eaken
Chief, Northern Berks Police Department & President Chief’s Association
seaken@nbrpd.org

Christine Schuler
School Counselor, Reading Intermediate High School
schulerc@readingsd.org

Dennis Hess
Coroner, Berks County
DHess@countyofberks.com

Desha Dickson
Director of Community Engagement, Reading Hospital
Desha.Dickson@readinghealth.org

Jonn Hollenbach
Asst. Chief Deputy, Berks County Coroner’s Office
JHollenbach@countyofberks.com

Jessica Jones
Deputy Director, Area Agency on Aging
jjones@countyofberks.com

Dr. Kolin Good
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Reading Hospital
Kolin.good@readinghealth.org

Tiffany Wagner
Director of Therapeutic Services/Therapist, Berkshire Psychiatric & Behavioral Health Services
twagner@berkshirepsychiatric.org

Alan McDaniel
President, NAMI Berks County
alanmcdaniel56@hotmail.com

Gary Hawkins
Executive Director, Greater Reading Mental Health Alliance
garyhawkins@grmha.com

Harry Deitz
Editor, Reading Eagle
hdeitz@readingeagle.com

Jeffrey Gregro
Deputy Chief, Berks County Juvenile Probation
JGregro@countyofberks.com

Dr. Jill Hackman
Executive Director, Berks County Intermediate Unit
jilhac@berksiu.org

Jim Conrad
EMS Chief, Reading Fire Dept.
james.conrad@readingpa.org

Lauren Heydt
Program Manager, MH/DD Program
lheydt@countyofberks.com

Michele Ruano-Weber
Deputy Administrator for Children, MH/DD Program
mruanoweber@countyofberks.com

Rev. Jane M Kropa
Pastor, Huff’s Union Church
krosmart@enter.net

Rev. Jeremiah Sassaman
Pastor, St. Paul’s Lutheran Congregation and EMT and President/ Topton Ambulance
revsassaman@ptd.net

Rick Wolf
Assistant Superintendent (Retired) , Governor Mifflin School District
Rickwolf@embracethechallenge.org

Ron Klee
Funeral Director, Klee Funeral Home
kleefuneralhome@comcast.net

Tom McNelis
President/CEO, Threshold Rehabilitation Services, Inc.
tmcnelis@trsinc.org

Tracy Evans
Administrative Assistant and Coordinator, MH/DD
TEvans@countyofberks.com

Wendy Seidel
Director of In-Home Services, Berks County Children and Youth Services
wseidel@countyofberks.com

Yvonne Stroman
Community Program Specialist – Council on Chemical Abuse
ystroman@cocaberks.org

Cheri Woyurka
Director, Office of Early Childhood and Student Services, Berks County Intermediate Unit
chewoy@Berksiu.org